How 4-Time MLA Mohan Majhi Became the Chief Minister of Odisha

Bhubaneswar (Odisha):

After the senior leaders Dharmendra Pradhan and Jual Oram were inducted into the central government, the BJP has chosen a relatively lesser-known face, Mohan Charan Majhi, a four-time MLA and the party’s tribal face, as the new Chief Minister of Odisha. Along with Mr. Majhi, the party has also appointed two Deputy Chief Ministers – KV Singh Deo and Parvati Parida.

The swearing-in ceremony will take place tomorrow, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and former Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik expected to attend. It is anticipated that PM Modi will hold a roadshow in Bhubaneswar on his way to the event venue, Janata Maidan.

According to sources, the 52-year-old Mr. Majhi, who has been elected as an MLA four times from Keonjhar, is a seasoned politician. His choice for the top position was largely influenced by his background in public service and his aptitude for organization. In the previous assembly, he was the BJP’s Chief Whip and the youngest leader.

Mr. Deo, a six-time MLA and former royalty from Patnagarh in Bolangir served as a minister in the Naveen Patnaik government for nine years until 2009, when the BJP was in alliance with the Biju Janata Dal (BJD).

MLA Mohan Majhi

Parvati Parida, a 57-year-old first-time MLA, has been with the party for the past 28 years. She served as the head of the state BJP’s women’s wing from 2016 to 2022 and as the state BJP vice president from 2022 to 2024.

Choosing the next Chief Minister was a challenging task for the BJP, as they are forming the government in the coastal state for the first time after 24 years of Naveen Patnaik’s rule. However, the state expressed its trust in the BJP by giving the party 78 out of the 147 assembly seats. The BJD won 51 seats.

The names for the leadership positions were selected this evening under the supervision of central ministers Rajnath Singh and Bhupender Yadav, who were sent as observers by the central leadership. The meeting, held at the state BJP headquarters in Bhubaneswar, was attended by prominent leaders and central ministers Ashwini Vaishnaw and Jual Oram.

MLA Mohan Majhi

For tomorrow’s swearing-in ceremony, tight security arrangements have been made. Numerous dignitaries, including chief ministers from BJP-ruled states and government ministries, are anticipated to attend the event.

1 thought on “How 4-Time MLA Mohan Majhi Became the Chief Minister of Odisha”

Leave a Comment